Understanding the Distinctions: Artist vs. Illustrator

Navina Chhabria
3 min readSep 11, 2023
Illustration by Navina Chhabria

I am an Illustrator and let’s talk ideas. Have you ever wondered what the difference is between an artist and an illustrator? For the longest time, I didn’t know. I just knew I loved to draw. The first time I was introduced to the concept of illustration was at age 15. We were given a prompt in school (I forget what it was) and had to interpret in drawing. I must’ve done something right because I won first place and my art teacher said I should explore a career in the arts. It opened my world to narrative illustration.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard, “Oh wow! I can’t even draw a straight line.” when I tell people I am an illustrator. I bite my tongue but I really want to tell them that it’s not about drawing straight lines. In fact, it might be about drawing at all — although it helps to have the skill. Some of the more popular illustrators sometimes hand over a bunch of squiggles for approvals before creating the final artwork. They do, however, need to be strong in design fundamentals — things like color theory, composition, contrast, balance, hierarchy, movement, variety in the elements, and creating unified pieces.

There is a fine line between what Artists and Illustrators do. Artists creates for self-expression or self-discovery. They create the brief for themselves. And while most of them do have a demographic they might cater to, they are their own client. They have the ability to create without any constraints, and can easily switch between styles if they fancy. Their work often serves as a medium for social commentary, cultural exploration, and personal storytelling.

So what do illustrators do? Illustrators are essentially commercial artists. Their primary role is to bring words, often someone else's words, (and sometimes a wordless story) to life with the use of pictures. They interpret creative briefs to convey information, evoke the right emotion and enhance the overall experience for the reader/viewer.

A good illustrator would’ve developed the distinct style and technique that caters to the needs of their clients and industries. They may specialize in areas such as editorial illustration, children’s book illustration, technical illustration, etc.

This makes them instantly recognizable (one of the reasons they get hired). They are required to collaborate with the client and more likely than not, work with a set of constraints (like a set brand guidelines) to achieve the desired results. They are essentially collaborators and their role is often deadline oriented.

Artists aim to get gallery representation, exhibit in museums and adorn the walls of private and commercial establishments. While, some illustrators might do all of these things too, they are mostly hired to create illustrations for books/publications, training materials, infographics, brand identities, advertising, technology, etc.

While artists and illustrators share a passion for creativity and visual expression, their roles and responsibilities differ in significant ways. Artists are the architects of their imagination, driven by self-expression and personal storytelling. On the other hand, illustrators are the visual translators, breathing life into narratives and conveying messages through their illustrations. Understanding these distinctions helps us appreciate the importance of both artistic endeavours.

Illustration Services, Digital Illustration, Traditional Illustration, Editorial Illustration, Storybook Illustration, Character Design, Character Illustration, Custom Illustration

--

--

Navina Chhabria

Illustrator | Storyteller | Mom. Capturing human stories. Work with me: www.navinachhabria.com